top of page

Ahoj Czechia


Hello again everyone, this post is coming a bit later I'd than hoped, but I am happy to say that's because I've simply been so busy here this past week! Since arriving I have started school, seen much of Trutnov, been spending time getting to know my host family, and working hard on my Czech.

My time here thus far has been a whirlwind of emotion and activity. On Monday I was given my first little tour of Trutnov's main square and spent time getting to know my host family, then on Tuesday I started school! While the idea of starting school only 24 hours after moving to a new country in which I don't speak the language may sound like a daunting task, I actually found it nice because I was able to start meeting people my own age right away. My classmates have been absolutely amazing, they have been so kind, welcoming, friendly, and helpful. I am very appreciative of how patient they all been in speaking to me in english (as I have now realized exactly how little Czech I speak) and helping me figure out my classes and my schedule. As for the classes themselves I am feeling very lucky to say that so far I haven't really been expected to participate in the lessons. This has given me a lot of time to work on my Czech independently before starting lessons with a teacher next week.

Now as for Trutnov, all I have to say is the town is absolutely charming, it is such a beautiful place to be. It has a very peaceful energy to it and I have loved all I've seen so far. The town is an interesting mix of antique and modern. On the one hand there is a brand new, state-of-the-art theatre right next to the main square, but on the other hand there is a church with origins dating back to 1260 on the opposite side. The architecture and layout are so different from what is found in Canada, with most of the buildings being constructed of brick or stucco, the roads in some areas being cobblestone, and the centre of the town being a pedestrian square. Lastly, there is a great deal of nature here in Trutnov. The Úpa river flows through the town and there is also the Městský Park (town park) which provides quick access to nature, and an escape from civilization. Yesterday we visited the park which is an interesting combination of beautiful walking trails and history, with many monuments to the Battle of Trutnov, the only battle won by the Austrian army during the Austro-Prussian war of 1866.

Trutnov has been wonderful so far and I am so beyond excited to spend these next 10 months here continuing to explore and learn about Czech language and culture.


bottom of page