top of page

I Did More Stuff in the Czech Republic

Hello again all!  It's been a little while since my last post on here since last week I felt I didn't really have much new to share.  This week though I have done more things and therefore feel I need to give you all a Czechia update.  This past week I began volunteering at an after school English program, gave a presentation at school about Canada, and went on a nice day trip to (surprise!) another castle. 

So I guess I'll start with the after school program.  One of my friends here who was an exchange student last year asked me to come with her to an after school program for young children where they learn English this past Monday where she volunteers.  She had told the lady who runs it about me and she wanted to speak with me.  Basically, the kids just spend two or three hours a week at this school where they play games and do arts and crafts, but while speaking English.  It's a really sweet program, the kids are really fun, and I'm excited about getting more involved in my community here.

On Wednesday I participated in an international day at one of the other high schools where I did a presentation about Canada.  It was about half an hour long and I did it four times for four groups of students.  Talking about home and explaining to people some of the things that I find so interesting and great about it was really nice.  It also gave me a good outlet through which to process some of my feelings about Canada that have surfaced since I left.  

Last, but not least, on Saturday we went on a lovely day trip to Bišík Castle.  The "castle" has been ruined since the 15th or 16th century, but was settled atop these amazing rock formations on which you can see where the castle was.  It was one of my favorite places I've visited here so far, it was absolutely beautiful, and was such a breathtaking place.  There are some photos attached down below, but they really don't do it justice. 

Alright, I don't think this has been my most exciting or insightful post, but I feel it's important to keep you all updated on the goings on in my life as that is why I made this blog in the first place.  And with that dear reader I will bid you adieu and na shledanou! 


bottom of page